Poem About The Book Thief

My experience reading The Book Thief was a pretty emotional one.

I was actually very upset, when it was over and done.

During the ending, I teared up quite a bit.

This was the first book that made me cry, I might as well admit.

 

I wanted to get the book done early, which made me motivated;

But when I started reading it, I just became fascinated.

So then I started reading about fifty pages a day,

But some days when I finished, I didn’t want to put it away.

You can probably tell I read it a lot more for fun,

Instead of reading it quickly just to get it done.

 

I understood every word, nothing was complicated.

And when I found out who the narrator was, I was already captivated.

The beginning of the book was strange,

But there was nothing I would change.

Because the way the story was told,

I couldn’t wait to see it unfold.

 

I loved the middle of the book

Because of the turn the story took.

The Hubermanns had to hide a Jew,

Then he became my favorite too.

Later, I found out Rudy would die.

I tried to prepare, but his death made me cry.

 

I favored Rudy, Liesel, Hans, and Max which I will always say.

And it made me so upset when Death took two of them away.

Rudy Steiner was such a caring boy;

But he also was filled with spirit and joy.

Hans Hubermann was an amazing husband, father, and friend.

He protected those closest, until his life came to an end.

Throughout the story, Liesel Meminger remains kind.

However, if she feels it, she gives those deserving a piece of her mind.

Max Vandenburg is full of love, spirit, and fight.

His friendship with Liesel is my favorite because they love each other with all their might.

 

The end of the book was the worst.

I wish it all could have been reversed. 

Hans was in the army, Max had to leave,

Himmel Street was bombed, which I didn’t want to believe.

Since Max was on the run,

I wasn’t sure if his life was done.

Rudy, Hans, and Rosa died.

But Liesel was in the basement, so she survived.

 

At the very end, Max came back to Himmel Street.

He and Liesel hugged and the ending felt complete.

Even though it felt like the book was done, that was not the end.

When Liesel later had a family then died, she talked to Death like he was her friend.

 

The Book Thief is a great story indeed,

And I’m glad it’s something I got to read.

Now, I want to read it a lot more,

Because it’s something I never thought of reading before.

While reading The Book Thief, my emotions went from happy, to angry, to sad.

And even though I don’t read books a lot, this was one of the best reading experiences I’ve ever had.

 

One thought on “Poem About The Book Thief”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *