Poetic Analysis of The Beatles Song Book

Till There Was You

There were bells on a hill

But I never heard them ringing

No, I never heard them at all

Till there was you

There were birds in the sky

But I never saw them winging

No, I never saw them at all

Till there was you

Then there was music and wonderful roses

They tell me

In sweet fragrant meadows

Of dawn and dew

There was love all around

But I never heard it singing

No, I never heard it at all

Till there was you

Then there was music and wonderful roses

They tell me

In sweet fragrant meadows

Of dawn and dew

There was love all around

But I never heard it singing

No, I never heard it at all

Till there was you

Till there was you

 

Till There Was You is about a guy who met someone and his whole world just opened up and became better. His life was simple and dull before he met this person. They changed his life for the better. The line that says, “There was love all around, but I never heard it singing. No, I never heard it at all. Till there was you.” shows that this guy didn’t know love until he met this person. The song is saying that he didn’t see the birds in the sky, didn’t hear music or bells, and didn’t smell the flowers around him. These things that are said are most likely untrue or over exaggerated, but by using these exaggerations, he’s showing us what happened when this person came into his life. You can tell from the title that this song means that something happens or changes in a person’s life when they meet a certain person.

Misery

The world is treating me bad, misery

I’m the kind of guy

Who never used to cry

The world is treatin’ me bad, misery

I’ve lost her now for sure

I won’t see her no more

It’s gonna be a drag, misery

I’ll remember all the little things we’ve done

Can’t she see she’ll always be the only one, only one

Send her back to me

‘Cause everyone can see

Without her I will be in misery

I’ll remember all the little things we’ve done

She’ll remember and she’ll miss her only one, lonely one

Send her back to me

‘Cause everyone can see

Without her I will be in misery (oh oh oh)

In misery (ooh ooh ooh)

My misery (la la la la la la)

 

Misery is about a man who lost the woman he loves. In this song, he is begging for her to come back to him because, just like the song, he is in misery. He’s thinking about the good times between them when they were together and it makes him want her back even more. By seeing the title, you know that this person is in misery over something and the song will most likely be sad or have a sad story that is being told. When people listen to certain songs, they relate to some of the lyrics. I feel that a lot of people can relate to this whole song and sympathize with the guy who lost the girl he loves. This song is easy for people to relate to because they can easily comprehend the meaning of this song and hear what is being conveyed.

You Can’t Do That

I got something to say that might ’cause you pain

If I catch you talking to that boy again

I’m gonna let you down

And leave you flat

Because I told you before, oh

You can’t do that

Well, it’s the second time I’ve caught you talking to him

Do I have to tell you one more time, I think it’s a sin

I think I’ll let you down (let you down)

And leave you flat

(Gonna let you down and leave you flat)

Because I’ve told you before, oh

You can’t do that

Everybody’s green

‘Cause I’m the one, who won your love

But if they’d seen

You’re talking that way they’d laugh in my face

So please listen to me, if you wanna stay mine

I can’t help my feelings, I’ll go out of my mind

I’m gonna let you down (let you down)

And leave you flat

(Gonna let you down and leave you flat)

Because I’ve told you before, oh, you can’t do that

You can’t do that

You can’t do that

You can’t do that

You can’t do that

You can’t do that

Everybody’s green

‘Cause I’m the one who won your love

But if they’d seen

You’re talking that way they’d laugh in my face

So please listen to me, if you wanna stay mine

I can’t help my feelings, I’ll go out of my mind

I’m gonna let you down (let you down)

And leave you flat

(Gonna let you down and leave you flat)

Because I’ve told you before, oh

You can’t do that

 

You Can’t Do That is about a guy who is feeling jealous. The person, who he is most likely dating, is talking to another guy and he feels jealous. So, he tells this person that they can’t talk to that guy anymore if they want to stay together. He says that if they keep talking to that boy, then they will break up. Clearly, this has happened more than once because, in multiple lines of the song, he says, “Because I’ve told you before, oh, you can’t do that.” This shows that the guy has said multiple times to this person that they can’t talk to the other man. When you see the title of this song, you probably don’t know what it is about other than the fact that someone is telling another person that they can’t do something. You might not even know if they’re telling this to a person. They could be talking to an animal. You only know who they’re talking to and what they’re talking about by hearing or seeing the lyrics. This song is basically about jealousy. And almost everyone has felt jealous before, so this song is very relatable.

 

All three of these songs have a commonality between them. They all have to deal with a person that they love romantically. Till There Was You is about a guy who’s life became so much better when they met this person and they’ve seen and heard things that they’ve never seen or heard before. Misery is about a guy who has lost the girl that he loves and wants her back. He keeps thinking of the good times when they were together. The man’s life is worse without her and he just wants to be with her again. You Can’t Do That is about a guy who is feeling jealous because the person he is dating is talking to another guy. He tells this person that they can’t talk to that other man again or else they’ll break up. People are able to relate to all of these songs and connect with the lyrics because they’ve possibly gone through something like this. These three songs all deal with love, but in a different way. One deals with love being the best thing that’s happened to him, one deals with wanting the person that they love back, and one deals with jealousy. A big portion of The Beatles’ songs are about a person they love. Also, the lyrics that they sing are very relatable to people which make their songs better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *